creative writing · Writing

NaNoWriMo First Week

Hey guys, I finished the first week with 10,545 words and I’m pretty happy with that but I haven’t written any other words since. I took a break this weekend and went camping and then when I came back I had to continue taking a break to decide where I want my story to go or if I’m willing to let my character tell it the way he wants to.

The problem I am facing right now is whether or not to let my character get arrested for the first time so early in the book (I’m on chapter 6) or if I force him to run away from the police for this first time. This first arrest is just a misunderstanding so it may not seem like that big of a deal but it brings out a lot of stuff about my character’s past and I don’t know if it’s too early or not.

2 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo First Week

  1. Keep plugging away. I just cracked 16,936 myself on day 10, with more to go when I get back at it tonight. Then again, I’m doing a play adaptation which is a liiiiittle different than writing from whole cloth. It’s one part easier, one part much more difficult.

    Also, as an encouragement, it’s never too early for you to grow your character. Don’t feel like you have to do things to formula. Let your story tell you what it wants to be. Keep your scenes moving and developing. If you feel the good rhythm to it that keeps you wanting to read what you write, you nailed it. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

