Writing

Work, writing, and cookies

Hey guys, I feel like I haven’t written in a while so I’m going to write a pretty long post today.

So for the past few summers I have just been helping my mom and occasionally babysitting but I’ve never had a real job before this year. This summer I have gotten the opportunity to work at a camp called the Adaptive Friendship Camp. This camp is specially put together for exceptional children and it’s a place where they can come and have fun for 6 hours a day with other children who either have the same challenges they do or maybe some slightly different challenges.

My first week I was kind of nervous going in because I was placed with the youngest group of children, which are the 6-8 year olds. I was nervous because at this age sometimes you can’t really tell how high or low functioning a child is but as soon as the first kid walked through the door all of my nervousness went away. The little girl came running in screaming with a huge smile on her face and gave me a huge hug even though she didn’t even know me. From then on everything has been really good and I’ve loved getting to work with the different teachers that come in and out of the classroom on different weeks and getting to know the children.

Now for my writing, I haven’t been working on any stories but I have been working on lyrics and writing songs. The words have been coming to me pretty easily and I usually come up with the full lyric before I even come up with the title. I’ve been trying to focus on how my influences write their songs and how they all write empowering words coming from places of depression and anger and anxiety. I would like to think that I could also write like that but I also know that it will take some work to get my mindset right to be able to write words like that.

Along the lines of music I have started on bandhub and I’ve been learning a bunch of other songs to cover. I should be able to record a new cover this weekend or near the beginning of next week.

And to end the post pictures of recent cakes and cookies.

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

3 thoughts on “Work, writing, and cookies

  1. Piper, your work with young children seems to have been a big highlight, and perhaps an inspiration for your music and writing. Children can do that. Thanks for the post. -Jennie-

    Liked by 1 person

    1. They are a huge inspiration for me and the fact that they can just smile and be so carefree even though they do have these challenges helps to remind me that I really have no reason to complain about anything in life.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

