Books · creative writing · Writing

Finding the Princess Chapter 10: Teenagers

Two weeks have passed and Petra, Jasper and Gabriel have been working hard and getting stronger. Their personalities have also started coming out more. Petra is always looking for someone to challenge her, Jasper is still mostly the same, just smiles more and talks a little bit more, and Gabriel, well, he’s showing his true colors even more now that he knows Sebastien is hiding something from them.

“I heard there was a new girl that transferred here yesterday. Do you think she could be the first test?” Petra asks. Sebastien smiles and nods.

“Yes, I think so. Would you like to be the one to test her?” He asks. She nods her head while jumping up and down.

“Yes, yes, yes!” She squeals. Jasper smiles at her as she jumps around in a circle.

“Just remember, if you challenge her she shouldn’t be willing to fight with you. If she is willing to fight then that’s your hint that it’s not her. Try not to cause too much damage and please remember that these are humans and they aren’t as tough as we are.” He warns her. She nods and with that their training session ends. Petra bounces out of the graveyard with Jasper following quickly after her. Gabriel stays again to confront Sebastien.

“You’re hiding something. I don’t know what it is but I will get to the bottom of it.” He threatens. Sebastien just glares at the younger man’s back.

“I am older than you and I have had more experience with continuous missions than you have. There are things from those missions that I prefer not to talk about for the sake of my own sanity and your safety. If I were you I would let it be.” He tells Gabriel. Gabriel just shakes his head before walking away. Sebastien lets out a frustrated sigh as Katherine and Kathryn stand on either side of him watching the man retreat.

“That boy will be the death of you. Probably literally if he keeps this up.” Katherine comments. Sebastien nods with a small smile on his face.

“I don’t think I’m going to class today.” He tells them as his vision starts to blur.

“Sebastien? What’s wrong?” Katherine quickly steps in front of him to look into his eyes. He smiles and then falls limp on her shoulder. “Damn. He’s been pushing himself too hard.” She gently lays him down on the ground. She looks up at Kathryn. “I guess it’s time to head back to our room.” She says and Kathryn nods. They phase back into Sebastien’s body and help him walk back to the dorm.

 

Petra makes sure to follow the new girl to the sidewalk behind the school. She walks quietly behind her for a few seconds taking in her appearance first. She has long black hair, and she’s a bit shorter than 5’8”. Petra sighs already knowing that this is probably not the girl that they are looking for but that doesn’t stop her from egging her on.

“Hey. You’re new here, aren’t you?” She asks as she walks up next to the girl. The girl just glares at her.

“Why do you care?” She grumbles after realizing that Petra wouldn’t go away.

“Well, I just remember how scary it was coming here for the first time. I was wondering if maybe you wanted some help finding your way around.” She says nicely. The girl stops and turns around.

“I don’t need friends. I need to get the hell out of this place. Stop trying to talk to me or I will start a fight with you.” She growls. Petra raises her eyebrow at the girl with a smile on her face.

“Wow. That was almost scary.” Petra comments. The girl whirls back around with rage burning in her eyes as she storms back up to Petra and punches her right in the stomach. It has no effect and Petra just stares down at the girl. The girl starts throwing all kinds of punches and kicks and every one of them lands, but they don’t have the strong effect that she wants them to. The collars start to go off as Petra raises her fist and punches the girl right in the face, effectively knocking her out before the shocks get too bad. The shocks get stronger from Petra’s collar and she feels lightheaded.

‘Jasper. I need help.’ She calls before convulsing one time and falling to the ground.

 

Gabriel has pulled Jasper aside before class to inform him about Sebastien’s lies.

“You must be wary. I don’t think he is who he says he is.” He warns. Jasper nods with a grim expression on his face. Then his eyes get unfocused for a moment.

‘Jasper. I need help.’ He hears Petra’s voice float through his mind.

“Jasper? What’s wrong?” Gabriel asks.

“Petra just called me. I think she may have gotten in trouble.” He explains. Gabriel rolls his eyes and moves his hand in a shooing motion toward Jasper.

“Of course she did.” He comments before walking into the classroom as Mr. Cross.

Jasper runs to the sidewalk behind the school to find Petra and the new girl passed out on the ground. He quickly moves to Petra’s side and takes off the collar to see physical burns where the prods dug into her neck. He moves to the new girl and removes her collar to see the extent of her injuries but there are no burns on her neck, she just has a broken nose.

“I knew I sensed trouble.” He hears a voice from behind him. He turns to see a very exhausted Sebastien standing there looking at the two girls. He walks up to the human first and heals her nose before snapping his fingers over her face. Her eyes fly open and she gasps before looking around.

“She punched me? That’s weird, I didn’t think it would knock me out.” She wonders as she looks around at Jasper and Sebastien and then to Petra who is still passed out. She sees the burns in Petra’s neck and her hand immediately goes to her own neck but she doesn’t feel anything. “Where is my collar?” She asks. Jasper holds it out to her with a smile.

“I took it off to make sure that you didn’t have the same burns. Thankfully you didn’t.” He tells her. She nods and looks down at Petra again.

“How did that work though?” She asks. Jasper shrugs.

“It seems that when Petra started to feel the shocks she didn’t want you to go through that pain of getting electrocuted so she thought to knock you out before the shocks got any worse and then she got the strongest shock because she wasn’t going down like they wanted her to.” Sebastien explains. Both Jasper and the girl nod. Sebastien holds his hand out to the girl to help her up from the ground. “You should get to class.” He says. She takes his hand and he pulls her up. She brushes herself off before nodding and taking off down the sidewalk toward the academic buildings.

“Is that really how that worked?” Jasper asks. Sebastien kneels down next to Petra.

“Yes. They have eyes everywhere that are controlling the shock collars and if it looks like the fighter isn’t going down with the simple shock they will amp it up until they do finally go down even if the fight is clearly already over.” He explains as he places his hand over the burns on Petra’s neck. He concentrates and heals to the deepest part of the burn which takes more power and he feels the pain start to build in his neck as he heals her. Once that’s finished he snaps his fingers over her face too and she jumps awake. Sebastien stands as Jasper helps Petra to stand.

“Heh. Sorry. It’s not your girl.” She smiles at him. Sebastien keeps an impassive look on his face as he stares at Petra.

“That was very clear the moment I walked up. My only question is why did you continue to egg her on once you knew that she wasn’t the one? Your job was only to test her not to get into a fight with her.” He scolds her. She grits her teeth and looks at the ground.

“I’m sorry.” She says. Sebastien softens his expression a bit.

“Don’t let it happen again. Not everyone here is like us. If you feel like you need a fight go and spar with Jasper. You cannot take it out on humans.” He tells her. She nods but doesn’t look up. “Go get some rest. I’m sure Gabriel wouldn’t mind if we skipped his class.” He smiles but it doesn’t reach his eyes. Petra nods but Jasper stays in his spot as he watches Sebastien.

“Why are you skipping class?” He asks. Sebastien crosses his arms over his chest with an eyebrow raised.

“What does it matter?” He asks. He sees Jasper’s eyes flare a bit.

‘It seems that Gabriel is trying to turn him against you.’ Katherine comments. Sebastien nods and focuses back on Jasper.

“Because you’re the only one who knows what is going on here and you’re choosing to leave us hanging because you don’t want to sit in class.” Jasper raises his voice a bit. Sebastien’s arms drop and his face grows dark.

“You should show me some respect, kid. If you aren’t grateful for the protection I have been providing for all of you maybe I should just stop and let you get killed by the demons. And I’m sorry that in my current form I don’t have all of the energy that I used to and in case you couldn’t tell, I’m sick right now and I need my rest just like any other human would. You shouldn’t pretend to know everything about a person, it could put you in a dangerous position.” He says in a monotone voice. Jasper stands his ground and Petra places her hand on his chest to try to stop him.

“You’re hiding something. Gabriel was right. We will figure it out even if you don’t tell us.” He threatens. Sebastien’s jaw clenches.

“I already told Gabriel, I’m not hiding there are just some things that I prefer not to talk about. And you guys are probably better off not knowing because it will change the way you view me even though I am no different from you.” He explains as he pushes past Jasper and walks away to the dorms.

Leave a Reply

