life · Uncategorized · Writing

Ability Vs. Potential

Notes:

Our optimism should be based on our potential and not our ability.

  • Ability is what we can accomplish with who we are
    • our ability is constantly changing
    • if we are not improving, our ability is declining
  • Potential is what we can accomplish with who we could become
    • our potential is always greater than our ability
    • we must be careful not to judge our potential by our ability

Why is this distinction important

  • our goals in life should be set based on our potential and not our ability
  • we don’t have time to develop our ability in all areas in our life
  • however, in areas of our purpose, we want our ability to constantly moving closer to our potential

 

Reflection:

I have never taken the time to think about the difference between these two words. I think I have always based everything that I do on my ability and while I have definitely worked on improving every skill I have I haven’t thought about my potential. My potential will get me to my dreams of becoming a published author and becoming an SLP. It’s hard to think about that when all you have is right now and all you can do is improve your ability in certain areas of your life.

Leave a Reply

