Books · creative writing · short story · Writing

Short Story #3

This is a short story kind of showing the characters that I usually write about. Let me know what you think and if you want to maybe hear the story from the perspective of the suspect.

I was assigned to a kind of crazy case. I’ve been chasing new leads for months. Phone calls keep coming in of new sightings of our suspect. The suspect is supposedly a ten year old girl but I can’t believe that. This whole case is just insane, I mean the deaths of the victims have been unnatural. Some of them have their eyes burned out and others have been turned into pudding on the inside or just completely fried, burned beyond recognition.

“Sir, we’ve gotten another tip. The girl was seen this morning by the old loading docks. We have reason to believe that she is still there. Do you want to go check it out?” A detective informs me. I quickly jump out of my chair and grab my jacket.

“Let’s go. I need all units to be there. Create a perimeter so that no civilians can get through.” I command. The other officers quickly move to their cars and start driving toward the loading docks. I get in my own car and quickly drive off toward the docks. It takes five minutes to get there and I pull up in front of the old warehouse where she was said to be. I step out of my car and start walking into the building.

“Sir? Do you want back up inside?” One of the officers asks me. I shake my head.

“No. I don’t want to make her mad. We don’t need to lose any officers for this. Just make sure there isn’t anyone else here.” I tell them. I slowly walk into the warehouse with my gun held up in front of me. I slowly walk around all of the corners until I get to the main room. I walk in to see the girl standing there waiting for me. She stares at me intently, watching my every move.

“It took you long enough.” She says. I slowly put my gun down and squint at her.

“What do you mean?” I ask. She smiles.

“Well, I thought the police response time would be faster than an hour for a tip like the one I gave you. I mean I’m supposedly a mass murderer and you just take your sweet time to respond?” She jeers. I take in a deep breath before responding.

“Why did you give yourself up?” I ask. She smiles and starts walking toward me as she gets closer she holds her hand out toward me and I quickly bring my gun back up and shot her. I emptied the entire clip into her body. She doesn’t blink, just examines me curiously as her wounds start closing. I take a step back as she steps closer with a smile on her face. It quickly falls and she turns to the corner of the warehouse and then back to me.

“I’m sorry. I didn’t mean to scare you. I wanted to show you something. The reason why I killed those people. You won’t understand unless I can show you what I saw. Will you allow me to show you?” She asks me. I feel sweat running down the back of my neck as I watch the young girl in front of me. I swallow the lump in my throat and slowly nod. “Okay, you might want to sit down, humans don’t usually do so well with mind manipulation. I don’t want to hurt you.” She tells me. I slowly sit down on the ground and she slowly sits in front of me and then rocks forward to sit on her knees. “You should relax. If you don’t this will be more painful than it has to be.” She explains. I take a deep breath as she closes her eyes and presses her forehead to mine. I gasp as my eyes roll to the back of my head and I start seeing images of red and black eyes, ugly, wart and scar covered faces on seemingly normal looking human bodies. Being attacked by these monsters and having no choice but to fight back, I feel something too, fear. The visions suddenly stop and she pulls back and my vision returns. I stare at her for a moment before a headache starts to spread through the front of my head. “I’m sorry. You should probably rest now, we will be gone when you wake up. Just tell them that we got away and keep what you saw our little secret, okay?” She says. I nod unable to speak because of the pain in my head. I lay down on the ground and let my eyes close.

 

“Sir? Sir!” I hear someone yelling. I slowly open my eyes with a groan.

“What?” I ask.

“Sir, you’ve been asleep for a week.” My assistant tells me. I frown at her and she smiles. “That girl got the best of you, didn’t she?” She asks. I frown again and then memories come flooding back. Everything the girl showed me and then what she told me before I passed out.

“I guess she did.” I say with a smile on my face. She smiles back at me with a nod.

“Well, if you’re up to it, you can go back to work tomorrow and we can continue cracking this case.” She says. I shake my head.

“No, I’m closing the case. Please make sure to close all of the murders and the profile of the suspect.” I tell her. A mask of shock spreads across her face.

“Are you serious? We got a tip that was actually right and now you just want to close the case? I mean you actually had contact with the suspect, you talked to her and now you just want to give up the case?” Her voice slowly raises. I nod.

“Yes. Please do as I say. I have my reasons and I can’t tell anyone else.” I explain. She sighs and shakes her head.

“Fine. I will go take care of that right away.” She stands up from the chair and wlaks out of the room. I lay back on the bed with a sigh as I think about the young girl that I met a week ago. She was nothing like I thought she would be and to think that even though she did murder all of those people, she is actually an innocent girl who was only using self defense against monsters that no one in the human world could possibly imagine.

Leave a Reply

