Writing

Drawing (Short Story)

This is a piece that I took out of one of my longer stories. I will post the link to the longer story at the end of the short story piece.

 

I was sitting in class doodling in my notebook as usual when I looked out the window and I saw that it was raining. It was odd because I was just drawing a picture of the rain and a woman, an evil looking woman standing in it staring up. I stood up and walked over to the window, in my own little world, and I looked down and there she was staring directly at me. She smiles creepily before she jumps straight up at the window, at me.

I shoot up out of bed sweating like crazy. That was such a freaky dream. I get up and open my notebook and there is the picture of the woman standing in the rain. I grab my pencil and erase her face and redraw it to make it not so creepy. I don’t want that kind of creepy, evil person in my imaginary world.

“That’s better.” I say. I stretch and yawn and start getting ready for school.

“Matt! Hurry up! You have a visitor!” I hear my mom yell at me. I finish getting ready and look at myself in the mirror. I start heading downstairs when I finally realize what she had said.

“Wait, I have a visitor? At 7:00 in the morning? Who is it?” I ask. She shrugs.

“I don’t know but she seems like a really nice girl.” She says. I back up the stairs and run to my room. I flip through my notebook until I find another picture. It was a girl, around my age, and she was standing in the middle of the street with a car racing towards her. Good. It wasn’t real. I run down the stairs, relieved. I walk into the kitchen and my mom is talking to the girl.

“What’s your name, sweetheart? I don’t remember you being one of Matt’s friends.” She asks.

“Kathryn. I don’t exactly know what I’m doing here but I felt compelled to come here. I almost got hit by a car this morning because I was so set on getting here.” She replies. I stop in my tracks as I’m walking around the corner. Almost got hit by a car? She’s supposed to be a drawing not a real person.

“Kathryn?” I ask myself. I don’t remember giving them names but I might have in my trips to my dream world. I walk around the corner and look at the girl again. She looks exactly like my picture. “What are you doing here?” I ask her. She turns around and smiles.

“I’m walking to school with you. Besides I need to talk to you about something of some significant importance.” She says, still smiling. I walk into the kitchen, past her and I brush her arm and she’s ice cold.

“Might I ask what you are?” I say.

“You drew me, shouldn’t you know?” She says. I just stared at her with my mouth hanging open.

“That’s impossible. Pictures can’t come to life.”

 

Click here if you would like to read the chapters of the full story.

One thought on “Drawing (Short Story)

Leave a Reply

